2018 Illinois State Scholars


Marist High School principal Larry Tucker recently announced that the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC) named 77 Marist seniors Illinois State Scholars. This brings the total of Illinois State Scholars from Marist to 550 over the past eight years.

Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors from more than 700 high schools across the state. Illinois State Scholars possess strong academic potential and are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank. 

“We are so proud of our Illinois State Scholars,” Tucker said. “This is a powerful reflection of the caliber of students at our school, as well as the strong curriculum and preparation our teachers provide to help students excel.”

Congratulations to the Class of 2018 members who were named Illinois State Scholars:

Ricardo Aguilar St. Bede the Venerable
Alexis Arreola Kerr Middle School
Collin Bartolotta St. Michael
Caitlin Blackburn St. John Fisher
Nolan Borkovec St. Barnabas
Jillian Borza St. Alexander
Jack Brannigan Century Jr. High
Daniel Brennan St. Catherine of Alexandria
Nicholas Brown Memorial Jr. High School
Emma Brown St. Barnabas
Abigail Callahan Most Holy Redeemer
Kathleen Canavan St. John Fisher
Jesse Canchola St. Symphorosa
Maria Castaldo Orland Jr. High
Michael Cosentino St. Linus
Julia Crowley St. Alexander
Elizabeth Davidson St. Michael
Maria DiCristina Palos South
Annika Dill Kinzie Elementary
Katie Doah St. Michael
Aoife Dolan St. Patricia
Ayden Domico St. Michael
Shannon Doyle Nathan Hale
Ryan Dunphy St. Michael
Rosemary Enright St. Walter
George Fanelli Most Holy Redeemer
Sean Geary Most Holy Redeemer
Alexander Giblin Jerling Jr. High
Mia Gillespie St. Linus
Sean Giltmier St. Christina
Allison Graff Queen of Martyrs
Edward Hall St. Barnabas
Jalon Jones St. Barnabas
Megan Kelly Central Jr. High
Kevin Kochan St. Daniel the Prophet
Kristen Kolp St. Barnabas
Steven Komperda Simmons Middle School
Georgia Lattas Koraes
Thomas Loch St. Linus
Samantha Lugo St. Bede the Venerable
Cara Lundy St. Linus
John Luzzo St. George
George Madaras, Jr. St. Alexander
Andrea Martinez Our Lady of the Snows
Kathleen Mather Century Jr. High
Michael McGrath † St. Michael
Nora McKeough Clissold
Mia Mesmer St. Damian
Maxwell Monterastelli Queen of Martyrs
Fiona Murphy St. Barnabas
Colleen Murphy Cardinal Bernardin
James Murphy Queen of the Universe
Gina Musso St. Alexander
Anna Nawara St. Albert the Great
Michael O'Brien Independence Jr. High
Annagrace Oswald St. Cajetan
Joshua Peralta St. Catherine of Alexandria
Maeve Poole Mt. Greenwood
Abigail Ready Palos South
Jacob Robinson St. Barnabas
Caitlin Ryan Central Jr. High
Declan Ryan St. Michael
Danielle Schleyer St. Michael
Courteney Schulz Independence Jr. High
Anna Simmons Parker Jr. High
Maxwell Sparrey Central Park School
Cailin Stevens Independence Jr. High
Brigid Stewart St. Albert the Great
Edward Stifter St. Linus
Abigail Svilar St. Cajetan
Andreina Treto St. Genevieve
Ryan Vulich St. Linus
Kelly Walinski Our Lady of the Ridge
Antoinette Wingo St. Patricia
Clark Woodard St. Walter
Angela Zedak St. Daniel the Prophet
Mackenzie Zions St. Cajetan


Not pictured: Daniel Brennan, Abigail Ready, Antoinette Wingo, and the late Michael McGrath