NLI Signing November 2019


Eight Marist High School seniors participated in a National Letter of Intent signing ceremony on Wednesday, November 13 in the school’s RedHawk Theater. The event confirmed their plans to continue their academic and athletic careers at the college level.

Camryn Hannah a three-year varsity starter and team captain for girls' volleyball will attend Clemson University. Hannah is a three-time conference champion and all-conference player. She was named the East Suburban Catholic Conference (ESCC) player of the year this season. She is a two-time all-area athlete, was named Daily Southtown player of the year as a junior, was all-state as a junior. She was named an All-American as a junior and just recently named an Under Armour All-American.

Mairead Boyle, a two-year varsity starter, team captain, and team leader in digs for girls' volleyball, will play for Western Michigan University. Boyle was named all-area as a junior and ESCC all-conference as a senior. Additionally, she was named all-tournament in the Plainfield Fall Harvest Tournament and Daily Southtown player of the week this season.

Maddie Arundel will continue her volleyball career at Ferris State University. A three-year varsity player and two-year varsity captain, Arundle was named all-state and all-area as a junior. She was the MVP of the Circus City Invite in Florida this season as well as a unanimous ESCC all-conference selection. She was an All-American candidate this season, too. 

Outfielder Brianna Brown will attend and play for the University of Pennsylvania. Brown is a three-year varsity softball starter in the outfield for the RedHawks. She is a talented lefty slapper and holds a .417 career batting average. She had an outstanding sophomore season hitting almost .500 and helped the 2017 and 2019 teams to a final four finish. 

Mia Crotty will continue her softball career at the University of Wisconsin at Oshkosh. Crotty has been a varsity pitcher since her freshman year. She is a talented lefty pitcher who has had great success in the past couple years. Last season, She went 2-0 in a very tough Arizona tournament. She has been a part of two final four finishes with the RedHawks. 

Brett Freiberg will continue to play baseball at Rock Valley Junior College in Rockford, Ill. Freiberg had an outstanding junior season in 2019, hitting .359 in 92 plate appearances with eight doubles and 21 RBI. He was able to find his way into the middle of a very good lineup and did an outstanding job against high level pitching. In 2020, he will once again be in the middle of the lineup and will compete for time at third and first base. Rock Valley is a great route for him as he continues his pursuit to be a Division 1 player after the 2022 season.

Will O’Boyle will attend and play baseball for North Central College. In 2019, O'Boyle hit .310 and had an on base percentage of .394 in 33 plate appearances. In 2020, he will have a great opportunity to grab a starting role after being behind numerous seniors in 2019. North Central College has an outstanding program at the Division III level. They have won four straight conference championships and have advanced to regional play in those four years including a World Series appearance in 2017. 

Dane Thomas will continue his career at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio. Thomas has been an everyday starter since the middle of the 2018 season. In 2018, Thomas hit .355 with five doubles, one triple and 21 runs scored with 15 stolen bases in 15 attempts in half of a season. Also in 2018, he had the extra-inning game-winning walk-off hit to defeat Lincoln-Way Central in the regional final. In 2019, he hit .327 with 33 hits, six doubles, one homerun, 19 RBI, and 23 runs scored. Wright State has an outstanding program, going 42-17 in the Horizon league in 2019.

More commitments are expected as the school year continues. Marist is a member of the competitive East Suburban Catholic Conference and its athletes and teams regularly garner success at the local and state levels.

From left: Mairead Boyle, Mia Crotty, Brianna Brown, Maddie Arundel, Camryn Hannah, Dane Thomas, Brett Freiberg, and Will O'Boyle.